Recharge vs Skio vs Loop: which subscription app should you pick?

If you sell something people reorder on Shopify, you’ll end up choosing between a short list of subscription apps. Recharge, Skio and Loop are the three I get asked about most.

I’m Carson Cobb. I run Shopify stores for growing DTC brands on monthly retainers, and I set up and fix subscription programs as part of that work. I’ve spent the most time inside Recharge and Skio. I don’t get paid by any of these vendors, and I’ll tell you where each one fits and where it doesn’t.

One thing first. The app is rarely the reason a subscription program underperforms. Most of the leaks I find in audits, like a hero product with no subscribe option or a widget that never renders on the product page, would follow you to any app. If that sounds like your store, start with my Shopify subscriptions page.

All pricing below comes from each vendor’s own pricing page and Shopify App Store listing, checked in October 2026. Prices change, so confirm before you sign anything.

The quick answer

  • Recharge is the most established option, with the largest install base and the deepest set of add ons. Its fees are the highest of the three on the entry plan, and the plans with migration help and bundles come with a 12 month term.
  • Skio has one public plan, priced higher at the start but with lower per order fees than Recharge, and it’s known for a polished customer portal and cancel flows. Recharge announced it was acquiring Skio in April 2026.
  • Loop has the lowest public entry price, the lowest percentage fees on its paid plans, and includes managed migration on every paid plan.

Pricing compared

Here’s what each vendor publishes. “Custom” means the price isn’t public and you have to talk to sales.

RechargeSkioLoop
Entry plan$25/mo plan listed on the Shopify App Store, no transaction fees on your first 50 subscribers (fees after that not listed)None below ScaleFree plan for up to 50 active subscriptions
Main planStarter: $99/mo + 1.49% + 19¢ per transactionScale: $599/mo billed monthly, or $499/mo billed annually, + 1% + 20¢ per subscription orderStarter: $99/mo + 1.0% per transaction
Higher planPlus: $499/mo + 1.34% + 19¢ per transaction, with scalable ratesNone publicPro: $399/mo + 0.75% per transaction
EnterpriseCustom, volume basedEnterprise: customEnterprise: custom, negotiable fees
Free trial60 days on StarterNot stated on the pricing page14 days on Starter and Pro
ContractStarter month to month; Plus and Custom on 12 month termsMonthly or annual billingNot stated on the pricing page
Migration supportListed on Plus (data validation, prep tools, cutover strategy)“Comprehensive migration” on Scale; custom migration development on EnterpriseWhite glove migration included on all paid plans, no migration fee
Shopify App Store rating4.8 from 3,149 reviews5.0 from 244 reviews5.0 from 802 reviews

A few things that don’t fit neatly in the table:

  • Recharge Concierge SMS on Plus is billed separately at $0.03 per message segment in the US and Canada, $0.06 internationally.
  • Skio lists its loyalty program as an extra charge but doesn’t publish the price.
  • Recharge Starter excludes bundles, rewards, referrals, Concierge SMS and the JavaScript SDK. Those start on Plus.

Key features compared

All three cover the basics: a product page widget, a customer portal, failed payment recovery and cancellation prevention. The differences are in the details and in which plan unlocks them.

RechargeSkioLoop
Cancel flowsSmart cancellation prevention on StarterMulti step cancel flow builderPersonalized cancellation flows on Starter
BundlesCustomizable bundles on PlusAdvanced build a box on ScaleFixed and custom bundles on Starter
SMSConcierge SMS on Plus, billed per segmentSkioSMS, one and two way, on ScaleNot listed on the plans I reviewed
Loyalty and rewardsRewards and referrals on PlusLoyalty at extra costStreaks, mystery rewards and reward journeys on Pro
Prepaid and giftingGifting on StarterSurprise and delight gifting on ScalePrepaid and gift subscriptions on Pro
API and developer accessJavaScript SDK and Storefront API on PlusWebhooks and API on ScaleAdmin and storefront APIs and webhooks on Pro
Dedicated supportLive video support on Custom; response within 8 hours on Starter, 6 on PlusDedicated merchant success manager on EnterpriseDedicated CSM and 24x7 Slack support on Pro

Migration: what each vendor actually promises

Switching subscription apps is the scariest part of this decision, because a bad migration means missed charges and angry customers.

Loop is the most explicit. Its pricing page says migration is fully managed end to end, included on every paid plan, with no setup, migration or onboarding fees. It also claims more than 1,100 migrations to Loop.

Skio lists comprehensive migration on its Scale plan and custom migration development on Enterprise. Its pricing page doesn’t publish a timeline or process.

Recharge lists end to end migration support, including data validation and a cutover strategy, on the Plus plan. It isn’t listed on Starter.

Whatever you pick, plan the cutover around your billing calendar, test real subscriptions before go live, and have someone watch the first full billing cycle closely. That’s work I do for clients as part of a retainer.

The Recharge and Skio acquisition

On April 27, 2026, Recharge announced that Skio is joining Recharge. In its announcement, Recharge said nothing changes today for merchants on either platform, both will continue to operate as they have, and more details about a combined roadmap will come later.

What that means in practice is still unclear. If you’re choosing Skio specifically because it’s an alternative to Recharge, factor that in. If you’re happy on either one, there’s no reason to panic.

Which one I’d pick for…

A newer brand just launching subscriptions. Loop. The free plan up to 50 active subscriptions and the $99/mo Starter plan with a 1.0% fee are the lowest public entry point of the three, and bundles and cancel flows are included from Starter. Recharge’s $25/mo entry plan is worth comparing too, but its fees past the first 50 subscribers aren’t listed on the App Store page.

A growing brand that wants the most established platform and a deep ecosystem. Recharge. It has by far the most reviews on the Shopify App Store and the most built in add ons on Plus. Just know that migration support, bundles and loyalty sit on Plus, which is $499/mo on a 12 month term.

A brand where subscribers are the core of the business and the portal experience matters most. Skio. One plan with most features included, lower per order fees than Recharge, SMS built in, and a strong cancel flow builder. The trade off is a higher starting price and uncertainty about the long term roadmap after the acquisition.

A brand doing high subscription volume and watching fees closely. Run the math on Loop Pro at 0.75% and Skio at 1% + 20¢, then get custom quotes from all three. At high volume the percentage and per order fees matter far more than the monthly fee.

A brand already on one of these and unhappy. Don’t switch yet. Fix the offer, the product page widget, the default selection and the cancel flow first. If the app still can’t do what you need after that, then migrate.

Want help choosing or fixing your setup?

If you want a second set of eyes before you commit, or you want someone to own your subscription program after you pick, that’s what I do. A one week Store Sprint ($1,500 one time, credited to a retainer) is a good start, and the Operator plan ($3,000/mo) is where I run subscriptions as part of the whole store. See all plans on the pricing section. If you’re a supplement or wellness brand, my supplement brands page covers the extra things I’d check.

Book a 20 minute intro call and tell me which apps you’re weighing. I’ll tell you what I’d pick for your store and why.

Book your intro call

Sources

FAQ

Questions, answered.

Which is cheapest: Recharge, Skio or Loop?

At small volume, Loop has the lowest public entry point, with a plan for up to 50 active subscriptions at no monthly fee and a $99/mo Starter plan at 1.0% per transaction. Recharge Starter is also $99/mo but carries 1.49% + 19¢ per transaction. Skio's public plan starts at $499/mo billed annually. At high volume all three offer custom pricing, so the real answer depends on your order count and average order value.

Is Skio owned by Recharge now?

Yes. Recharge announced on April 27, 2026 that Skio is joining Recharge. Recharge says both platforms will keep operating as they have for now, and the Skio Shopify App Store listing is now titled Skio, a Recharge Company.

Which app has the best migration support?

All three advertise migration help. Loop says white glove migration is included on every paid plan with no migration fee. Skio lists comprehensive migration on its Scale plan. Recharge lists end to end migration support on its Plus plan, not on Starter.

Do Recharge, Skio and Loop all work with Shopify checkout?

All three are built for Shopify and listed on the Shopify App Store. Each one manages subscriptions on top of Shopify, so the bigger differences are in pricing, retention tools, bundles and support.

Should I switch subscription apps?

Only if the app is truly holding you back. Most subscription leaks I find are offer, product page and flow problems that would follow you to any app. Fix those first, then decide whether a migration is worth it.

Are these prices current?

They come from each vendor's own pricing page and Shopify App Store listing as checked in October 2026. Pricing changes, so confirm on the vendor site before you sign.

Take the store off your plate.

Book a 20 minute intro call. We'll look at where your store is losing money and the best place to start.